The origins of what is today one of Berlin‘s most demanded live acts date back to 2011, when front man Danny O’Connor met fellow Irishman Alan Jackson on St Patrick’s Day. They began playing gigs together, and as the venues became bigger, so did the band. Percussionist Tobi Gomez and fiddler Sara Thögersen were the first additions to the line-up, and while Jackson left Murphy’s Law for personal reasons, both of them are with the band to this day.

Milestones in Murphy’s Law band history are the release of their first studio album Half Full in 2012 and its follow-up Full House in early 2015, the year when it became clear that the band were outgrowing their Folk cover beginnings. As sets became a more eclectic selection of folk, rock and pop greats, the band’s sound had to keep pace with the development and called for an addition which was found in bass player Jens Clarberg. A member since the second half of 2016, he brings an invigorating new dimension to the increasing number of shows Murphy’s Law are playing as a four piece.

2016 also saw front man Danny O’Connor release his first solo album, Black Sheep. Recorded with musicians from the extended Murphy’s Law family, it features Danny’s original songs and was greeted with enthusiasm by listeners and critics alike. The energetic, audience-engaging front man made a magnificent debut in the world of original music, presenting himself as a versatile musician whose ideas boost the band’s new, unique and fresh sound.

Murphy’s Law have grown into a connected and well attuned team ready to meet new musical challenges and new audiences. Loved by their fans in Berlin and elsewhere, standing on the solid foundation of five years together and rejuvenated by the impulses of the last two, they are about to write a new chapter as the journey continues.